Today is: Thursday December 14, 2017 | Status: Under Re-development | Version 2.99.03

Eclectic Vibes - September 2016


CD/DVD Micro Reviews by Andrew Frey

Useful Jenkins on 8/4 at Majestic Theater in Madison - photo by Andrew Frey

USEFUL-NESS
Admittedly bluegrass is not my favorite genre, so when we made plans to see Useful Jenkins on 8/4 at Majestic Theater in Madison, I was pretty much along for the ride. But it was a free show, so I persevered and am so glad I did. Recently, to augment their bluegrass roots, the band added Olivia Quintanilla on Cello to further support Karen Kozak on Violin. This has added a whole new dimension to their sound and propelled them into the realm of chamber-grass. Bravo! I can’t wait to see them again at Shagri La Festival, Sept 8-10 at Harmony Park in Minnesota. www.usefuljenkins.com  shangrilafest.com

GOING DHOL
Way back in 2001 I came across the first Dhol Foundation release, Big Drum: Small World. This was one of my first exposures to the soon to explode ethno/world music and electronica crossover. We played it into the ground! Since then the group has released several albums and collaborated on dozens of others. The exciting part is that on 9/16 they will be appearing as part of the Madison World Music Festival at the UW Memorial Union Terrace while they travel the globe with the mission to promote and expose the indigenous sounds of the Dhol Drum to the Masses. www.dholfoundation.com   union.wisc.edu/events-and-activities/event-calendar/event/madison-world-music-festival-free

MORE ZIGGY!
Reggae legend Ziggy Marley has been busy! In 2013 he launched Ziggy Marley Organics, his own line of hempseeds and flavored coconut oils which met with a positive response and favorable sales. Continuing on this path, in October of this year he will be releasing, Ziggy Marley and Family Cookbook, a cookbook based on the foods of his life. It is intended to bring new organic and nutritious recipes to kitchens around the world, by promoting healthy living with a touch of Jamaican culture, comfort, and love. However, he will be cooking up a musical storm when he appears on 10/1 at the Barrymore Theater in Madison, WI touring in support of his self titled 6th album, released last May. ziggymarley.com

MICRO REVIEWS: This Month's Rating Scale is from 1 is Helter-Skelter thru 10 is Meticulous
Big Gigantic - Brighter Future

Big Gigantic

Brighter Future
Record Label: Big Gigantic
Review published: September 2016
Rating: 9

Fantastic funky grooves and ass kicking saxophone bolstered electronica are trademarks of this Denver based superstar duo and this is no exception. This time though, they bring aboard a number of mostly vocal contributors to create a more sophisticated and multifaceted approach to their overall sound, while still managing to bring the party.



Bones Jugs - Don’t Waste A Drop

Bones Jugs

Don’t Waste A Drop
Record Label: Bones Jugs
Review published: September 2016
Rating: 9

BONES JUGS
Don’t Waste a Drop
(Bones Jugs)
I didn’t know this was an option! Is this Looney Tunes on acid or a 21st century jug band? Horns, honkers, kazoos, banjos, and incredible xylophone are paired with stand up bass, fiddle, guitar, and drums to create an awesome, quirky and unsuspectingly unique combination of dixieland, jugband, ragtime and farcical imagination.



Bones Jugs - Don’t Waste A Drop

Bones Jugs

Don’t Waste A Drop
Record Label: Bones Jugs
Review published: September 2016
Rating: 10

I didn’t know this was an option! Is this Looney Tunes on acid or a 21st century jug band? Horns, honkers, kazoos, banjos, and incredible xylophone are paired with stand up bass, fiddle, guitar, and drums to create an awesome, quirky and unsuspectingly unique combination of dixieland, jugband, ragtime and farcical imagination.



Wax Futures - Keep The Memories

Wax Futures

Keep The Memories
Record Label: http://www.waxfuturemusic.com/
Review published: September 2015
Rating: 9

Powering up some body flinging rhythms filled with expressive festival style beats and visual treats, this Philadelphia trio blasts out the memories by offering live guitar and bass over synthesized atmospheres complimented by a dedicated visual production person. This tenacious approach has boosted them into the spotlight at many summer festivals already and is sure to launch them into the ears and eyes of listeners for many years and miles to come.



Yak Attack - The Radiant Kind

Yak Attack

The Radiant Kind
Record Label: Yak Attack
Review published: June 2017
Rating: 9

Livetronica trios that pump out handsomely fresh bumps, funk and jazzy downtempo flips and slips are one of my fave things. Fling yourself onto the dance floor when this Portland crew swings through your town and their motivational beats spring from the speakers and into your hearts.






- Partners -


Search Eclectic Vibes by Artist Name, Album Title, or Record Label

Partners: Rökker Vodka