Today is: Friday July 20, 2018 | Status: Under Re-development | Version 2.99.03
CD Review
DC4 - Electric Ministry


Electric Ministry
Record Label: Metal Blade
Review by Jeff Muendel
December 2011

DC4 has heavy metal bloodlines. The group came into being when Jeff Duncan of the band Armored Saint recruited Rowan Robertson, one-time lead guitarist of Dio, to join DC4. Drummer Shawn Duncan also played in Odin, a band who reached cultish fame by being featured in the documentary, The Decline of Western Civilization: The Metal Years. So what do you end up with? Some strong heavy metal that skips the grunge and nu-metal attitudes altogether. “We made a point of making Electric Ministry a real guitar album. Back to our roots…” says lead guitarist Rowan Robertson.  From the opening track, “Wrecktory,” to the closing song, “Translucent Life,” the album is chock full of catchy, powerful guitar licks, driving rhythms, and thoughtful, sometimes funny lyrics. But the hidden gem here is the lead guitar work of Robertson, whose playing continues to reflect the reasons Ronnie James Dio plucked him from obscurity at the age of seventeen to front his band. Electric Ministry is a great classic metal album, and DC4 is a group on the rise.

Purchase Electric Ministry on CD from Amazon

(2949) Page Views • • DC4 MySpace

- Partners -

Search CD & DVD Reviews

Partners: Rökker Vodka