Today is: Thursday March 30, 2017 | Status: Under Re-development | Version 2.99.03

Eclectic Vibes - August 2008


CD/DVD Micro Reviews by Andrew Frey

Feel Good Festival in Amherst, Wisconsin August 8-10, 2008

Feel Good Festival
Festival going is a fun activity and with the gas price sting, the closer they are the better. So with that in mind, perhaps you would enjoy a close getaway Aug 8-10 to the Portage Count Fair Grounds in Amherst, WI. Max Ink favs “Reptile Palace Orchestra” are headlining on Friday evening plus there will be vendors, workshops and lots more. My favorite unknown band name at the festival is “Screaming Snopek Strawberry Daydream.”  feelgoodfestival.org

Nas on Cobert Report:
Straight up, I am not a rap fan. That being said, I saw a most amazing and articulate rapper on the Cobert Report on 7/23. It seems that “Nas” is in the forefront of a movement coordinated by ColorOfChange.org (a 450,000-member grassroots organization that focuses on issues of importance to the Black community) that points out how FOX (and Rupert Murdock, etc) are disturbingly racist. In fact, the organization (along with www.moveon.org) has gathered over 600,000 signatures for a petition delivered to FOX.

“FOX poisons the country with racist propaganda and tries to call it news,” said Nas.

The incendiary single called “Sly Fox” taken from his new album (which is unnamed because Nas wanted to call the album the “N” word but it got struck down) that he performed on the show converted me to a fan. He may need to bump up his personal security for his lyrics and actions, but I gotta say, he is really taking the bullshit by the horns.

MICRO REVIEWS: This Month's Rating Scale is from 1- Dorf-Nards thru 10 - Indamncredible
8889 - Zoology

8889

Zoology
Record Label: Self Released
Review published: July 2008
Rating: 6

Singer/songwriter styled alt/indie rock from Madison. This follow-up to their MAMA winning debut album finds a well-defined, well-thought through chunk of moody alt music. For my ear candy I prefer a bit more intensity and cleverness.



(2215) ViewsPermalink8889 Website
Ron Hacker - Mr. Bad Boy

Ron Hacker

Mr. Bad Boy
Record Label: Maximum Folk
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 7

This live solo show recorded at Famous Dave’s BBZ & Blues in Minneapolis highlights a scrumptious soulful attack of raw, bare-boned Delta blues from a bluesman of adequately checkered past and gruff, gritty vocals.



(2211) ViewsPermalinkRon Hacker WebsiteRon Hacker Wiki
Melvins - Nude With Boots

The Melvins

Nude With Boots
Record Label: Ipecac Recordings
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 8

Repeating the lineup of their prior release, King Buzzo and crew blast through a perky platter of lowbrow musical adjectives and adverbs to arise victorious and refreshed after the 872nd year of the band’s existence. Viva La Melvins!



(2133) ViewsPermalinkMelvins WebsiteMelvins Wiki
Mock Orange - Captain Love

Mock Orange

Captain Love
Record Label: Wednesday Records
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 8

Casting an indie rock aura for meters in all directions, this tried and true band has weathered thru a lawsuit from George Lucas (for their Dead Droid Record Label) and come out crafty, quirky and generally plucky.



Opiate For The Masses - Manifesto

Opiate For The Masses

Manifesto
Record Label: Century Media
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 3

Well-promoted, catchy commercial pop metal. I guess if you listen to that there hard rock radio, you will have built up a tolerance to this type of music. I grew up on metal, but I cannot stand how ho-hum metal has generally become. Blugnuts!



Rosa Passos - Romance

Rosa Passos

Romance
Record Label: Telarc
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 7

Sultry and intimate female vocals sparkle and shine, complimented by mellow smooth jazz and bossa nova ripples. This Brazilian native takes time to explore matters of the heart as she expands upon her three decade career. A little mellow for me, but she’s a great singer!



Scifi - Scifi

Scifi

Scifi
Record Label: Coma Gun Music
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 10

Spaced out, mostly non-vocal jam rock that finds footholds in the jazz, funk, soul and techno world. At times the floaty jazzy grooves have whisked me off to a distant planet of fuzz, love and murmur. Delightful!



(2202) ViewsPermalinkScifi Website
Straight Line Stitch - When Skies Wash Ashore

Straight Line Stitch

When Skies Wash Ashore
Record Label: Koch Entertainment
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 8

Taking the sound of today’s popular aggressive metal-core, attaching a bit of their own style, then adding the intense and dynamic female vocals of Alexis Brown has propelled this band to lofty new heights.



Natalia Zukerman - Brand New Frame

Natalia Zukerman

Brand New Frame
Record Label: Weasel Records
Review published: August 2008
Rating: 8

It is a bit of a conundrum how the daughter of a flutist and a violinist manages to find herself producing tantalizing bluesy guitar rock driven by her husky vocals. Her Americana attitude intermingles with a country and folk backbone while being complimented by the Willy Porter production.






- Partners -


Search Eclectic Vibes by Artist Name, Album Title, or Record Label

Partners: Rökker Vodka