Today is: Monday September 24, 2018 | Status: Under Re-development | Version 2.99.03
CD Review Lucas Cates Band - All The Pieces

Lucas Cates Band

All The Pieces
Record Label: Self Released
Review by Cactus Joe
October 2008

“All the Pieces,” the second album from Madison WI natives The Lucas Cates Band, is a thoroughly danceable, musically tight and well produced piece of pop rock work. Released in 2008, “All the Pieces” is a 100% self-produced follow-up to the band’s 2005 debut “Contradictory” (released on Madison’s PopBomb label).


Read More...




CD Review Light Pollution - Light Pollution

Light Pollution

Light Pollution
Record Label:
Review by Dan Vierck
September 2008

In the vein of Midwest post-indie folk groups, or rural musical collectives, Light Pollution is a welcome beacon in our coast-less sound scape. Melancholy but vibrant, exuberant without being lighthearted and legitimately captivating whilst dodging contrition and pretentiousness, this Chicago four-to-five piece hits like a major indie label heavyweight.


Read More...




CD Review Deadly Sins - Selling Our Weaknesses

Deadly Sins

Selling Our Weaknesses
Record Label: Dirty Mick Records
Review by Dan Vierck
September 2008

Any mention of new-ish Boston punk rock outfit Deadly Sins and their full-length, “Selling Our Weaknesses” (Durty Mick, Sept. 2) will almost invariably be coupled with the information that lead singer Stephanie Dougherty was the woman who sang on Dropkick Murpheys’ “The Dirty Glass.” Here is no exception, though this marriage of information is misleading.


Read More...




CD Review Black Sabbath - The Rules of Hell (Box Set)

Black Sabbath

The Rules of Hell (Box Set)
Record Label: Rhino Records
Review by Jeff Muendel
August 2008

There’s no denying the Ozzy-era Black Sabbath and that band’s groundbreaking sound. But, it is also undeniable that Ronnie James Dio saved Black Sabbath when he took over as vocalist in 1980. When founding members Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler chose Dio as their new vocalist, the group’s sound matured, and it gave Sabbath another two years of productiveness before the band spiraled into near obscurity as lineup change after lineup change gradually eroded away all identity. Though Dio’s time with the metal pioneers produced only two studio albums and one live release, those years added an unforgettable chapter in Black Sabbath’s history.


Read More...




CD Review My Chemical Romance - The Black Parade

My Chemical Romance

The Black Parade
Record Label: Warner Brothers
Review by Rocky Linderman
June 2008

It has become hard to live in America. In a few short years we, the American people, have had to learn how to live with the constant threat of terrorist attacks. We have had to endure the loss of brave men and women who laid down their lives in Iraq. And now more recently we are learning to live with an economy that is on the decline. Things are not looking good. Americans are living in fear. Its everywhere that you look. You can feel it in the very air that you breathe. That is why My Chemical Romance’s third album, “The Black Parade” is so important to our time.

No other album released this year has been able to capture the fear that is so prevalent in our country. Forged from the anguish of mental illness, the loss of loved ones, and the pain of knowing that all living things must die, “The Black Parade” captures the essence of what it means to be a human being. It isn’t just an album it’s a story. It’s a concept album that tells the story of a character, who is simply known as, “The Patient.”


Read More...




CD Review Spiritualized - Songs in A & E

Spiritualized

Songs in A & E
Record Label: Fontana International/Spaceman
Review by John Noyd
June 2008

Heavenly choirs and late-night lullabies are interspersed among sutured blues and scalding psychedelia as Britian’s Spiritualized re-emerges with another overflowing opus. A modern odyssey reflecting the scary times in which we live; “Songs,” howls, sings and mumbles its way through reverence and misery. Front man, Jason Pierce, continues to explore metaphors for war, love and drugs - stirring together a half-buried blend of blazing guitars, spaced-out harmonics and the occasional pop melody to round out the mix. A tumultuous cavalcade of passion and torment, Spiritualized bravely rises to celebrate, communicate and commiserate through hard-lived logic and clinging hope. Equally adept at portraying the claptrap of an unhinged mind and the purity of a healed heart, “Songs,” rings, rips and resonates - indulging, retracting and sorting through galactic debris.


Read More...




Page 63 of 67 pages ‹ First  < 61 62 63 64 65 >  Last ›



- Partners -


Search CD & DVD Reviews

Partners: Rökker Vodka